Home Page
Countess Gytha Primary School is a member of Preston Primary Academy Trust

Interactive Bar

Google Services






Welcome to our Governors’ Section 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured.


The Countess Gytha Primary School local governing board (LGB) is made up of the Head Teacher, a representative from the teaching staff and volunteers from parents and the community. The local governing board meet a minimum of three times a year.


 The core functions of the governing board are:


  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the wellbeing of all members of our school community


The day-to-day management and running of the school is the responsibility of the Head Teacher and School Leadership Team (SLT). It is their job to report to the governors so we can undertake our main functions as outlined above.


If you would like to contact any member of the Governing Body please do so through the school office.


Countess Gytha Local Governing Body 2023-2024


Head Teacher - David Gordon

Staff Governor - Megan Bridge

Director Appointed Governor - Helen Cullen

Director Appointed Governor - Paul Wilson (Co Chair of Governors)

Parent Governor - Sam Clifton (Co Chair of Governors)

Parent Governor - Charles Straker-Nesbit 

Community Governor - Paul Davies

Clerk to Governors - Anthea Sorrell

Our Local Governing Body Structure

Links to PPAT Director Information

Making contact


Our Governors always welcome contact with those wishing to know more about what we do, or to pass on comments or ask questions.  Please feel free to get in touch. 

Governor Minutes


If you wish to see the minutes of our Local Governing Body meetings, please contact the school office, or the Clerk via