Home Page
Countess Gytha Primary School is a member of Preston Primary Academy Trust

Interactive Bar

Google Services





Early Years (Reception)

Early Years Foundation Stage (Reception)


A child's first year of schooling is underpinned by the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). This curriculum is designed to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes high-quality teaching and learning to give children the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.



Areas of learning

There are 7 areas of learning in the EYFS: 


The 3 prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
  • Physical Development


The 4 specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World 
  • Expressive Arts and Design 


The three prime areas are particularly important for learning and forming relationships. They build a foundation for children to thrive and provide the basis for learning in all areas. The four specific areas help strengthen and develop the three prime areas and ignite children’s curiosity and enthusiasm. In Reception, there is a greater focus on teaching the essential skills and knowledge in the specific areas of learning. This will help children to prepare for Key Stage 1.



Enabling Environments 

Children in Reception navigate these areas of learning through first hand experience and structured play. Opportunities are carefully planned and enhanced to support children to have an active role in their learning and develop their critical thinking skills. 

The Statutory Framework for the EYFS states: 

Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, relate to others, set their own goals, and solve problems. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play and learning that is guided by adults.



Children in Reception benefit from two carefully-planned, highly engaging learning environments. Our outside area plays a vital role in our curriculum, alongside the experiences provided inside the classroom. 



Early Learning Goals (ELGs) 

The level of development children should be expected to have reached by the end of their Reception year is defined by the early learning goals. These are set out in the link below. 


Progression of skills 

Below outlines the typical progression of children's skills in each area of learning throughout their year in Reception. These skills are developed and strengthened through our play-based provision and create the foundations for planned learning opportunities and purposeful adult interactions. Our skills progression ensures that all children carefully build upon their previous learning and development in carefully sequenced steps so that all children have the best chance at achieving the expected level of development by the end of the year (ELGs).